Disposable Cameras

I haven’t used a disposable camera since the middle school dances I used to attend back in the early 2000’s. When I went to Ocean City last week I thought it’d be cool to test one out. I bought two from one of those cliche little boardwalk stores.

AquaCam! “The camera that gives you underwater magic!”

camera-disposable-aqua-cam-under-water-camera

camera-disposable-aqua-cam-under-water-camera-1

164433_10153032948450414_1093571204_n

I thought I could use some underwater magic, so I paid $12.99 for each camera. It’s not too bad considering that you’re paying for a roll of film pre-loaded in each camera, the camera and plastic waterproof casing. Like most disposables, the settings were preset at 400 ISO and 1/125 shutter speed.

So how was the film? Well, not as good as I remember it being but then again I was used to using Kodak disposables or Fuji disposables. This film leans more towards the type that is seen with Lomography work. Not sharp, but great color rendition and the photos had a dreamy feel to them. I was happy with the results.

It worked.

It worked.

Beach Cruisers

Beach Cruisers

Hotel

Hotel

Seagulls

Seagulls

Me!

Me!

Andrew :)

Andrew 🙂

Thrasher's

Thrasher’s

Arcade

Arcade

Splash

Splash

Feet

Feet

Sun

Sun

Wave

Wave

Foot

Foot

Sandy feet

Sandy feet

Me

Me

Bikes

Bikes

Wave

Wave

Worth it? Definitely. It was a small price to pay without having to worry about waterproof iPhone cases leaking or having to spend a lot of cash on a waterproof casing for a camera. Plus, I enjoyed the plastic lens.

15 thoughts on “Disposable Cameras

  1. Interesting; I almost always have the Vivitar Wide and Slim in my pocket, with cheap film, for similar reasons (no waterproofing though), no matter what else I’m toting.

  2. So glad to have found another film photography blog to read. 🙂 I love that you do film outside of your professional work and it’s easy to see how laid back you are when using film; the photographs turn out really fun!

  3. This sounds like a really stupid question, but how did you get the camera carton (plastic case) open? I have the same disposable camera and I seem to have forgotten! Thanks, I really liked your photos.

  4. Pingback: Holga 120N Review | 120 Pearls

  5. Absolutely love all the photos! C’mon summer……better yet, c’mon Mothers Day Weekend….after looking at these I really feel the need to get to OC…… Love your blog!

  6. One would think a media professional could figure out how to develop a $10 camera….so ummm apparently not. I had to google Aqua Cam to figure out what to do with it after our white water rafting trip. Your site came up! So not only did I learn what to do (thanks) I am now also a fan of your work.

    • Hahaha, I had to do the same when I first got it too because you can’t open it and take out the roll like normal cameras. I hadn’t used a disposable in years before that one. Glad to have helped!

      And thank you! Hope you come back to the blog again 🙂

Leave a comment